tehachapi loop overlook project



There has been a lot of discussions with Kern County regarding the safety of the viewing site at the Loop.  The County has already provided some safety features there.  

The Loop allows Union Pacific and

BNSF Railroad to gain elevation to cross mountains between Bakersfield and Mojave, and it attracts thousands of railroad buffs and others annually.

The platform was suggested by the Friends of the Depot.  The project leader is Keith Sackewitz.

As people park along, cross and set up chairs to view the trains, will be a huge safety feature.

Photo provided by Anne Marie Novinger

safety is why the tehachapi overlook project needed 


Safety photos by Board Member: Marlan Woodside

Loop Maintenance

This project is a joint effort between Kern County, Friends of the Tehachapi Depot and community stakeholders.  Once the project is complete, the county public works department will be responsible for the road maintenance including any repaving, repairs, signage or drainage issues that may arise.  As with all county roads, this is funded with tax dollars and grants obtained by the county.  The platform itself will be constructed of low maintenance materials and will be the responsibility of Friends of the Tehachapi Depot.  They are a non-profit that already leads the  fundraising efforts to maintain our historical Tehachapi Depot Museum and have done so successfully for many years. 


Rendering of the Overlook as of August 2020 by Alex Kosich

Loop Overlook Reality.jpg
Public Donor's Letter.jpg

NEW! Tehachapi Loop overlook project

by "Friends of the Tehachapi Depot"  - Making this dream a reality!

      Picture a train climbing a steep hill and it is almost at the top, we need to give it a little push to get to the top.  

     We are almost there, but we still need your help to make it at least over the top.  Every little bit helps large or small.  Pay by clicking the button at the top or mail a check to the address below.


at least $100,000

***How to Make a Donation***

  • Click the Donate Button at the top of the page.

  • Write a check to:  Friends of the Tehachapi Depot or FOTD

  • Non-Profit 501(c)3 EIN #65-1221063

major donors


depot-logo w_o Date.jpg

Friends of the Tehachapi Depot

GTEDC Logo.jpg

Greater Tehachapi Economic Development 


Eight Minute Solar

City Logo.png

City of Tehachapi

BHE logo.gif

BHE Renewables 


Fill Dirt Provision

Mr. Countryman -- Property

Kern County Public Works Department

$1,000 Plus Donations

  Kenny Harrison $6,000

(P-Dubs, Heat Source & AMA Builders $2K ea.)

Carole Lindsey $5,000

Charles Schwab (Steve Shaw)  $1,000

Tim & Judy Trujillo  $1,000    

Marlan Woodside  $1,000

 Alta One  $1,000

Tehachapi Live Train Cam  $1,000

Dixie Coutant  $1,000

Tehachapi Valley Recreation & Parks  $1,000

***Project Team Members***

FOTD:  Tim Trujillo, Board President

               Keith Sackewitz, Board Vice-President

               Linda Gordon, Gift Shop Manager

               Marlan Woodside, Board Member

               Steve Smith and Pat Smith

Zack Scrivener's Office: Laura Lynne Wyatt

with complete support and partnership from Zack Scrivener - Kern County Supervisor - District 2

South Street Digital:  Lydia Chaney, Eric Horn and Audrey Horn

The Tehachapi Loop:  Claudia Baker, Pat Doody, Staff Writer and Tehachapi Tourism President


Zack Scrivener - Support for Project

Mike & Cheryl Butters - Camera Video and Video Production

Mary Beth Garrison - Publicity Comment

Popcorn Fundraiser at the Depot 4/10/21 = $2134.00

$300 Plus Donations

Mueller Family  $600    Cheers for Charity  $500

Rotary Club $500  Valley Strong $500

Scott & Mary Beth Garrison $500

Stephen & Pat Smith $500

RSI  $500 Del Troy $400     

The Tehachapi Wine & Cattle Company $350

Under $300 Donations

       Bruce Jones  $200,    Kristie Nichols $5

Loren Pine $100,   Carter Greene $100

Michael Lockwood $10   James Campbell $100

Rosemarie Davis $100  Ruthie Grimes $200

John Dilly $25   Linda Gordon $100

D & D Revocable Trust $100  Michael Davies $100

Martijn de Ru  $10   Gary Woods  $25 

Dennis Storms $20  Linda Carhart $100

Teresa Troll  $50  John Lasky $25